Reflections

Sadness in Orlando


orlando-florida-skyline

I try to share what is good, and uplifting.  There is so much ugliness in the world, but also so much beauty.  We saw a bit of the ugliness today.

As I headed off to work this morning, I was shocked to hear about the tragedy that had just taken place.  Dozens of police cars, the news said, were heading to the scene.  Traffic was backed up all over.  A police officer had been shot.

I have so much respect for the police force. They have a difficult and dangerous job compared to most of us.  I have a hard time with conflict, and they see conflict on a daily or hourly basis, much of which could possibly injure or kill them.  We have seen such retaliation against the police whose job is to “protect and serve” the community.  As with other groups of people, there is the possibility of a few “bad apples”.  This doesn’t give anyone the right to attempt bodily harm on any of the others.  It saddens me whenever I hear of how many of them are treated.

This is much of what went through my mind on my drive this morning.  Even more so was the question, “oh my god, what happened?”

As the day wore on, I received very few details.  Then I discovered that one of my friends knew the officer that had been shot.  I was surprised when she didn’t leave work to try to handle her grief.

She stayed because it was easier to do so and keep busy than to let her mind dwell on the loss of her friend.

As I drove home, more details were revealed.  The suspect has not been captured yet.  And this wasn’t one of the hate crimes that have flooded the news media of late.  This was a suspected murderer.  The officer had confronted him when someone reported seeing him.  He shot her, she shot back and he ran.  Other officers were there and reached her quickly, but it was already too late.  She died at the hospital.

This woman was only doing her job.  She was just like us.  She had a family.  She helped her community.  She tried to make the world a better place.  And in the blink of an eye, that all changed.

Why do I try to keep a positive outlook?  This is why.  We have all had some type of tragedy in our lives.  Some more harsh than others, but all painful and personal.  Every day that we wake up is a blessing.  Every time we walk out the door to go to work, or to school, or for any reason at all could be our last.  But we can’t live in fear.  There is also so much that is good in the world.  If these could be my last moments, I’d rather spend them with love in my heart and a smile on my face.  And I’d like to share that outlook with everyone I can.

Today is a day of mourning for much of Orlando.  But the sun will rise in the morning of a new day.

Leave a Reply

