Adventures..., Crafting, Planning

Adventures in Crafting…and Planning?


17197698_10158235453380401_267272091_n

What do you do when you love to craft, and your crafts start piling up?  Some you can give to friends and many you can give to family.  But after a while, even they won’t take your stuff because they just have too much.

This is what I’m afraid of and why I don’t craft as much as I’d like.  Before now, I’ve limited mine to just things that I could use, or to Halloween.  (I love making paper mache props, even if they are pretty small in most cases, and have to add at least a couple to my collection each year)

I’ve been trying to make a change to that over the last year or so.  In 2016, I took up paint classes at the local Michael’s, and a few Painting with a Twist classes too.  I loved it!  But I only have space to display so many paintings… so I put it on hold.

At the beginning of this year, I accidentally fell into crafting again.  I decided to get better organized so that I’d have the time to do the things that I want to do, not just the things I need to do.  So I bought a planner and soon discovered that the spiral bound planner I bought at Staples wasn’t working for me… It was just too hard to add anything to it.  Sure the calendar pages were ok, but it didn’t include much else.

I dropped into Michael’s and found a couple of cute things to add to my planner… some magnetic bookmarks, some of those bands to hold it closed, some washi tape (I’d never heard of washi before, but thought they looked pretty.)

The bookmarks got me thinking, “Hey, I could make some of these”.  So I did and reposted the blog where I found the DIY… by then I’d also discovered the Blogging world and some of the wonders it holds.

I also started looking into how to add pages to my planner.  There are tons of good tutorials out there.  It was just a pain to get the pages to fit the spiral binding.  So I started looking for a ringed planner like I had used years ago, but that was less expensive than my old Franklin Planner had been.

I found the perfect one at Michael’s.  They have the Happy Planner, which I don’t like due to the rings which don’t feel right in my hand, and they have the Recollection Planners.  Some of the Recollection Planner are spiral (UGH!) but they also have the 6 ring binders. YAY! I got the A5 size because I think the personal size is too small for me, for right now anyway.

Thus began my downward spiral.

For the last couple of months, I’ve been glued to YouTube DIY videos and online blogs about planner inserts, stickers, and all things planner related.  I had no idea how much the planning world had changed since I last used a planner.  And I mean USED a planner.  While there were a couple of cute things you could get (I had a nice acetate bookmark from Franklin), these little books were tools and nothing more.

These days, it’s all about the stickers and bookmarks and how cute you can make your weekly “spread”.  It’s about collecting washi and discovering the next thing on Etsy.  Planning your day in a planner has now become an activity in scrapbooking and I’m being sucked in.  I’ve never done scrapbooking (and in recent years, most of my photos are kept on my computer, instead of ever being printed out).  Now I’ve discovered a new outlet for my crafting “bug”.

So far, I’ve made magnetic bookmarks, butterfly or heart planner clips, planner inserts for calendars and many other trackables, planner dividers and planner charms… I can only use a few of these. Any additional items get stored in a box.

So, what do you do when you love to craft, but the stuff starts piling up, and you keep having new ideas that you just have to try out?  You open an Etsy store. Here’s mine.

I’ll try my hand at writing and videoing tutorials as well.  But if you don’t have the crafting bug like I do, I’d be happy to make something just for you.  Most of what I use in my crafting, I picked up at Michael’s.  They often have a 40% off coupon, so try them out.

 

1 thought on “Adventures in Crafting…and Planning?”

Leave a Reply

