Adventures..., Crafting

Adventures in Crafting… Easter bookmark tutorial!


P1010398

I love making things and love seeing all of the cool tutorials out there.  They give me so many ideas that I just have to try out!  Over the last couple of months I’ve been making things to go into my new planner and my friends all tell me that I should do tutorials showing how I did it.  So I’m sharing this as my first.  Easter is coming up, and I just thought the stickers were too cute.  I hope you like this tutorial and have as much fun making your own bookmark or planner clips as I did.  If you’d rather not make them yourself, I have an Etsy store where I’m offering my crafting overflow for sale.  Or email me.  I may be able to custom make something just for you!

Enjoy!

What you will need:

  • Paperclips
  • Cute Easter stickers. I found these at Target in the Dollar Spot.  9 Easter egg shaker stickers for $1.  WOW! I bought 2 sets so that I could have the same shaker on each side.
  • Glue

Step One

Place one of your large paperclips at the bottom of the sticker, centered so that most of the clip is below your sticker.

P1010390

Step Two

Glue it in place.  I always use hot glue for my clips, so that’s how I started out when making these… After the second one, I realized that these stickers are plastic, so the hot glue was starting to melt the backing… not a good idea unless you want the glitter confetti to get out, and for you clip to look really warped.

Next I tried Mod Podge.  I’m not sure if that worked at all.  I wanted to get these done, and didn’t want to wait more than just a few minutes to see if it was sticking.

P1010394

Then I tried Scotch Permanent Super Glue Gel.  This worked pretty well and I like that it’s a gel so it’s easier to get it where you want it.  But after a couple of clips, it seemed to run out.  I didn’t realize there was so little in the bottle, and I’d only used it a couple of times since I bought it.P1010393

Finally, I grabbed the Gorilla Super Glue out of the fridge.  The fridge is my husband’s idea.  It keeps the glue cool enough to stay in a gel consistency.  This worked out really well.  It came out to the tube easier than the Scotch glue, and I still have plenty left after finishing off my clips.  And we’ve been using the same bottle for several years for little things.  I’ve just never thought of using it for crafting.  This may be my new go-to glue.

Step 3

Add glue around the tip of the paperclip that is on your sticker.  You may also want to add more to the rest of the sticker too.  Place the matching sticker on top of the paperclip, so that the backs of the stickers are together and lined up.  Hold them in place long enough for the glue to get a good hold.

P1010395

Step 4

Place your new clip aside to finish drying.  Once dry, you are done!  Or you can add ribbons or other embellishments for that extra touch!

I hope you enjoyed my first tutorial.  If you have any questions or comments, I would love to hear from you.

P1010398

1 thought on “Adventures in Crafting… Easter bookmark tutorial!”

Leave a Reply

