Adventures..., Crafting

Adventures in Crafting! New video tutorial for a Shaker Dashboard!


Traveler’s Notebook Shaker Dashboard Video Tutorial!!

TN Shaker Thumbnail

Today I’m making a shaker dashboard for a personal size traveler’s notebook and I wanted to share with you how I did it. In addition to the video, I’m providing written step by step instructions.  Have fun making your own shaker dashboard!

For today’s project, you’ll need:

  1. A sheet protector
  2. Paper or cardstock
  3. A paper trimmer or scissors
  4. A laminate pouch and pre-heated laminator
  5. Tape
  6. Washi tape or ribbon
  7. Sequins, glitter, whatever filler you choose.

Step 1: We are going to start off by cutting the page protector and paper to the width of the planner page for your planner.  The width for a personal size is 3 ¾ inches.  The height will be 6 ½ inches, but we aren’t concerned about that now.  You’ll need two pieces for this project.

Step 2: Place the page protectors with the paper inside into your laminate sheet.  Be sure to line them up evenly on the top and bottom, and leave a half inch gap between the two pieces.  This section will be used for sliding under your notebooks in your traveler’s notebook.

Step 3:  Laminate.

Step 4:  Trim off the excess laminate, being careful not to cut into your pockets.  You’ll also want to cut off the end of the pockets to the correct height for your planner.  On this personal size, I cut them to 6 ½ inches.

Step 5:  Remove the paper from inside your pockets.

Step 6:  Now is the fun part!  Pour your shaker filler into the pockets.  This is where your creativity can shine through.  I used glitter, 3 or 4 different kinds of sequins and a couple of die cut embellishments that I made.

Step 7: Seal it up.  Tape usually works fine for this project, but you can also glue the tops shut if you prefer.

Step 7:  Cover the seal with some pretty washi or ribbon.  The tape that we used to seal it usually doesn’t look too pretty.  You can leave it as it is, but I prefer to cover it up with some washi.

You’re done!  All that’s left is to put it in your traveler’s notebook!

I hope you enjoyed this video and tutorial and would love to see what you create!  If you would prefer that I make one for you, please let me know.  I am taking custom orders and have items available at my Etsy shop.

Thanks again for reading my blog, and have a great day!

 

For more crafting inspiration, check out my channel on YouTube or my other tutorials here on my blog:

Adventures in Crafting! New video tutorial for a Photo-holder Dashboard!

Traveler’s notebook laminated dashboard

Adventures in crafting… tonight’s project.

Adventures in Crafting… just a little something

4 thoughts on “Adventures in Crafting! New video tutorial for a Shaker Dashboard!”

Leave a Reply

