Adventures..., Crafting

Adventures in Crafting: Planner Clip Holder Flip Book – Craft Challenge!


Hi guys!

In trying to decide on what to make for this month’s craft challenge, I started rummaging around in my paper scraps.  A friend had asked me how I store my planner clips, and I had recently seen some pretty flipbooks… so I decided to make my first one as a planner clip holder.  And I think it turned out pretty well.

P1010828.JPG

Here is what I did.

You’ll need:

  1. Imagination
  2. Pretty Cardstock
  3. A paper trimmer or scissors
  4. Adhesive
  5. Ribbon or twine

Step 1: I started off with 3 pieces of 6” x 6” card stock. This will be the base for your flip book.  You’ll want to trim just a smidge off of 1 side of 2 of the pieces so that, when you have them all put together, they will fold together nicely.

P1010832.JPG

Step 2:  The 6” x 6” cardstock piece that was not trimmed is going to be the center piece.  Tape one the 6” sides on a trimmed piece to one of the sides of the center piece.  Do the same with the 3rd pieces on the opposite side of the center piece.

P1010833.JPG

Step 3: Cover the tape with washi.  This is to make your flip book prettier and add a little extra support.

Step 4: I cut a couple of 6” X 2” cardstock to use as pockets on the outer pages… and then added 2 more.  Strips of double adhesive tape worked great in holding them in place.

Step 5:  Then I decided that I needed something more in the center.  I took another piece of cardstock that was almost 6”X6”, and trimmed it a little to make sure it could lay in the middle with the outer pages closed.  Then I scored about a half inch from the bottom, folded at the score, and glued the folded piece to the bottom of my center page.

Step 6: From here, it’s all about decorating and making storage.  I decided to use the pockets to hold planner clips, and glued a few strips of cardstock to the center page, and center flap to hold more clips.

P1010830.JPG

P1010831.JPG

Step 7: Once everything was done, I wasn’t satisfied.  So, I punched a couple of holes on the right cover, and on the right spine, and ran some pretty ribbon through to hold it shut.

P1010828.JPG

I now have a new way to store some of my planner clips, and it will fit in my bag with my planners.

I really loved this spontaneous project, and I think I’ll make some smaller ones to give as gifts with a few cute things inside.

I hope you enjoyed this tutorial and would love to see what you create!  If you would prefer that I make one for you, please let me know.  I am always taking custom orders and love making new things.

Thanks again for reading my blog, and have a great day!

For more crafting inspiration, check out my channel on YouTube or my other tutorials here on my blog:

Adventures in Crafting… Contest!

Adventures in Crafting! New video tutorial for a Photo-holder Dashboard!

Adventures in Crafting! New video tutorial for a Shaker Dashboard!

Traveler’s notebook shaker dashboard

Traveler’s notebook laminated dashboard

The Craft Challenge

This tutorial is part of The Craft Challenge 2017. The ladies listed below are all contributors and have their own unique tutorial to share with you! Take some time and check out their February craft projects.

Links will be updated to their tutorials when their posts are available.

Emily from A Pop of Red: Seashell Rings for Summertime Style
Carin from Eclectic Soapbox: Coming soon!
Heather from ShiftMama: Coming soon!
Martha from The Art in Martha: Alien Stuffies
Vanessa from Social Stampers: Coming soon!
Mary from Sew Much Love, Mary: Magazine Clippings Upcycled Journal
Megan from Make Something Mondays! : DIY Beach Inspired Candle Centerpiece
7 thoughts on “Adventures in Crafting: Planner Clip Holder Flip Book – Craft Challenge!”

Leave a Reply

