Adventures...

Adventures in Crafting: Knit and crochet markers – Craft Challenge!


p1020150.jpg

Hi guys!

A couple of weeks ago, I spent some time with my in-laws on vacation.  My mother in law is heavily into knitting, so I went with her to visit her favorite yarn shop. I’ve never done knitting, but as a teen, I did some crocheting.

While we were in the shop, I discovered a cool item that knitters are using while they work… knit markers.  They are so cute and useful, so I thought I’d give it a try.

Most of the items needed were already in my stash, so this is a great opportunity for me to use up some of those extra beads.  I made them using a few different methods.  Use what you have on hand.

I’m going to be sharing the how-to for the different types of markers that I made on Sunday

For the Crochet markers, you’ll need:

  1. Beads or charms
  2. Lobster clips
  3. Wire or headpins
  4. Jewelry pliers

For the knit markers, you’ll need:

  1. Beads or charms
  2. Wire and crimping beads
  3. Small, medium and large jump rings (depending on which style you are making)
  4. Wire cutters
  5. Jewelry pliers

P1020109.JPG

Let’s start with the Crochet markers.  These can actually be used for either knitting or crocheting.  The big difference is the lobster clip.  It allows you to easily remove it from your project.

First, take your charm, and add a small or medium size jump ring.  To do this, you’ll want to twist the jump ring to open a gap… do not pull the side straight apart.  This will weaken the wire, and jump rings were designed to be twisted, not pulled.

P1020119.JPG

After the jump ring is attached to your charm, add the lobster clip too.  You’ll have both the charm and the lobster clip on the same jump ring.

Finally, close the jump ring.  And you are done. 🙂

P1020121.JPG

Another version uses the beads you have on hand, along with a head pin.

String 2 or 3 lightweight beads on a headpin, and twist the end into a loop using your round nose pliers.  This creates your handmade charm.P1020136.JPG

P1020137.JPG

After adding your beads, bend the end of your wire to a 90-degree angle and trim it to about an inch.

P1020138.JPG

Then, using your round nose pliers, bend the wire into a loop, starting at the far end, and bending it towards the beads.
P1020142P1020143P1020144

 

P1020147.JPG

Making a knit marker is a little different.  Instead of a lobster clip, we’ll be using large jump rings or wire.  This allows for enough space to go around your knitting needle.

Use a medium jump ring to attach your charm to a large jump ring.

 

 

P1020132P1020133

P1020134

For larger knitting needles, you’ll need to use wire instead.

P1020122.JPG

Take about 4 inches of wire and loop it back on itself.  Slip a crimping bead onto the wire and move it into position, allowing enough of a loop for the size needle you want to use this for.

P1020126

P1020124

P1020125

Crimp the bead.  I used a crimping tool, but a regular pair of pliers should work too.

P1020128.JPG

Add your beads and another crimping bead to the bottom to hold them in place.  Be sure to crimp this bead as well.

P1020129.JPG

P1020130.JPG

Once you get the hang of each of these techniques, you’ll find that this is a quick and easy project.  I made several of them in a short amount of time.  I think I’ll keep some of the crochet markers, and send the rest off to my mother in law for her to use with her knitting.  What a great gift idea!

P1020153.JPG

I hope you enjoyed this tutorial and would love to see what you create!  If you would prefer that I make one for you, please let me know.  I am always taking custom orders and love making new things.

Thanks again for reading my blog, and have a great day!

For more crafting inspiration, check out my channel on YouTube or my other tutorials here on my blog:

Adventures in Card Making – Happy Birthday

Adventure in Crafting… Mother’s day and Birthday card inspiration

Watch “My Crafty Things – Tulle Shaker Cards!” on YouTube

Adventures in Crafting! New video tutorial for a Photo-holder Dashboard!

Adventures in Crafting! New video tutorial for a Shaker Dashboard!

Traveler’s notebook shaker dashboard

Traveler’s notebook laminated dashboard

The Craft Challenge

This tutorial is part of The Craft Challenge 2017. The ladies listed below are all contributors and have their own unique tutorial to share with you! Take some time and check out their February craft projects.

Links will be updated to their tutorials when their posts are available.

Emily from A Pop of Red: Pipe Cleaner Maple Leaves

Carin from Eclectic Soapbox: Coming soon!

Heather from ShiftMama: Coming soon!

Martha from The Art in Martha: KNITTED T-SHIRT YARN ORGANIZER

Vanessa from Social Stampers:  How to Make DIY Signs for Just About Anything

Mary from Sew Much Love, Mary: MAY “EASY T-SHIRT REFASHION USING LACE”

Jemma from Thimble and Twig: DIY BEAD AND TASSEL NECKLACE FOR CHILDREN

Megan from Make Something Mondays! : DIY Drawstring Fabric Gift Bag

 

2 thoughts on “Adventures in Crafting: Knit and crochet markers – Craft Challenge!”

Leave a Reply

