Adventures..., Crafting, Inspiration, New Starts, Organization

Hello again.


Hi Guys!I’ve been busy trying to reorganize my life, my stuff and my priorities over the last month and

I’ve been busy trying to reorganize my life, my stuff and my priorities over the last month and haven’t posted recently.  The recent obsession with crafting, paper crafting specifically, has caused an influx of tools and supplies that has gotten a little out of hand.  So the battle in my brain continues.  My creative side wants only to make things and not care about the mess.  My logical side is a bit OCD and can’t stand the mess…  So I’ve been working on organizing… everything!

My current craft space isn’t a studio or craft room.  We have a “computer room” which I think was actually a Florida room or something when the house was built.  Our house has an open floor plan with vaulted ceilings, and this room is off to a corner of the main living space with one wall being doors facing the patio.  3 huge desks line 2 outer walls and the wall facing the patio, blocking the patio doors, and the 3rd wall has a media closet and a large chest that houses folders, paper, etc.  Since my husband works mostly from home, this is also his office.

What this means is that my paper crafting supplies were in plastic storage bins and containers from Joanne’s and were stacked about 4 feet high beside my desk.  We’ve learned recently that clutter can be a major source of stress and most people don’t even know that is one of the causes… so having this “clutter” in my husband’s work space was not ideal.

So a couple of weeks ago, my hubby and I hit a local antique and flea market and brought home 2 beautiful antique cabinets.  I’ve loaded one up and the other we are currently re-staining and varnishing.  Once that is done, I can, of course, re-organize everything again.

Since my mind has been in organizing mode, the creative side has quietened down a bit… I’m struggling to find inspiration.  Having a few custom orders for planner accessories is helping, and the last week has had a lot of birthdays, so I’ve gotten some cards done.  Still, I want to do something new.  So that is the part of my plan for the next week or so.

Crafting organization is a major problem for so many of us that I’ll share in a future post about what I decided on (for now… I’m sure I’ll change my mind at some point) and how it’s working out.

Thanks for dropping by and have a great weekend.

 

Leave a Reply

